Holiday Light Parade 2012

Right after seeing the big banner on the street promoting the Holiday Light Parade, I had incessantly badgered Kyle into taking me to my very first Christmas event in the USA. I have always loved parades and since this one was right in town, I didn’t dare miss it for all excuses in the world.

But of course, this is not New York. Not a Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade. No television crew. Just a simple Williamston parade of floats, cars and trucks with kids and adults smiling and waving semi-cheerfully, and a short song-and-dance performance from Williamston High’s Guys and Dolls actors. Some participants threw candies on the street and since it was dark and I could always pass as a 12-year-old, I unabashedly picked up two lollipops. One for me and one for Kyle. See? I thought of him too.

I didn’t get to take a lot of pictures because my humble iPhone camera is not good at taking night pictures. However, I managed to get some shots of adorable Christmas-decorated floats, a llama, and the much-awaited VIPs, Santa Claus and Mrs. Claus! They were at the very last of the motorcade to signal the beginning of Christmas celebrations.

Image

The Shining, Shimmering, Splendid Dragon

Image

Winner of the Most Unique Holiday Decor

Image

Granger Christmas Truck. Granger is a waste management company in Michigan. Hopefully they used recycled materials for their decors!

Image

A Llama in Holiday Costume. There were a lot more of them there but it was so difficult to take a great shot of them.

Image

Good Ol’ Santa Claus

Santa Claus was clearly still old-fashioned as he and company were pulled by a horse-drawn carriage – no, not reindeer, sad to say.  I wouldn’t have minded it as it would be ridiculous if he came in on a glittering spaceship. It was just anti-climatic because the vehicles before him paraded like a procession of lights and then suddenly, at the most important part of all, boom! Darkness came.

The parade ended with the lighting of the giant Christmas tree, which Kyle and I didn’t go up close to anymore because the nearby dollar store was so tempting. It was a great night, not very cold, and I had a hot cup of Starbucks peppermint mocha to warm me up better.

It was not a grand parade with giant balloons, marching bands or celebrities. The participants were mostly students, people from the community, and sponsoring companies I hadn’t heard of until then. But would I still go to next year’s parade again? Without a doubt, yes! It would be great to herald the start of Christmas with a tradition of going to the Holiday Light Parade. And maybe next year, I’d run into more familiar faces in the crowd.

Leave a Reply

